REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING July 17, 2024

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on July 17, 2024 in the conference room at the high school at 7:01AM. Board members present: Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Staci Allmaras, and Brenda Olson

Board Members Absent: Greg Larson Student Representatives present: None

Student Representatives absent: Eduardo Sanchez

Others Present: Brian Korf, Emily Evenson, Rudy Martinez, Cary Haugrud, and PJ Breen.

The meeting was called to order at 7:15AM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Acknowledgements

Summer Programming Staff

Summer Rec Coordinator & Coaches Summer School Teachers & Paraprofessionals Summer Special Education Transportation

Administrative reports

A. Finance Director

Mr. Rudy Martinez

Jon Karger made a motion to move consent items F (Approve the membership renewal with Minnesota School Board Association 2024-25) & K (Approve the Lakes Country Service Cooperative Membership Agreement for fiscal year 2025) to Business Items. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Administrative reports continued

B. Superintendent

Mr. Brian Korf

Brenda Olson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes June 12, 2024 Regular School Board Meeting
- B. Financial claims June bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$100 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$100 - Laura Klimek

Girls Golf - \$60 - Bell Bank

Elementary Art Supplies - \$100 - Alpha Delta Kappa Sorority Inc.

Rex & Linda Haugen Scholarship Fund - \$200 - Wade & Judi Johnson

E. Personnel

Approve the resignation of Cindy Hart as Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

Approve the resignation of John Gullingsrud as Junior High Football Coach at PRHS

Approve the hire of Aneli Franco as ELL Paraprofessional at PRHS

Approve the hire of Amy Haiby as Head Dance Coach at PRHS

Approve the hire of Hope Beachy as Asst. Dance Coach (0.5) at PRHS

Approve the hire of Emily Ditch as Asst. Dance Coach (0.5) at PRHS

Approve the hire of Jan-Erik Lindberg as Asst. Baseball Coach & Junior High Football Coach

- F. Approve the membership renewal with Minnesota Rural Education Association (MREA) 2024-25
- G. Approve Audit Engagement Letter with EideBailly for the 2023-2024 Audition
- H. Approve the change of the November School Board meeting to November 13, 2024
- I. Approve the change of the December School Board meeting to December 16, 2024

The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Anne Peterson made a motion to approve the 2024-25 Designations. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to elect Brenda Olson as the one volunteer board member to serve on the Otter Tail Family Services Collaborative's Governing Board. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Anne Peterson made a motion to approve the 2024-25 membership renewal with the Minnesota School Board Association. Jon Karger abstained from voting; the motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all other present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the Lakes Country Service Cooperative Membership Agreement for fiscal year 2025. Jon Karger and Staci Allmaras abstained from voting; the motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all other present members voting in favor.

Anne Peterson made a motion to change the August board meeting to August 22, 2024 at 7:00am. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all preser members voting in favor.	
Board Chair	Board Clerk